Lester W. Strock Award

The Lester W. Strock Award is given by the New England Section of the Society of Applied Spectroscopy in recognition of a selected publication of substantive research in/or application of analytical atomic spectrochemistry in the fields of earth science, life sciences, or stellar and cosmic sciences. More details on the award are available from the Society for Applied Spectroscopy.

2022 Recipient

Igor Gornushkin

Dr. Igor Gornushkin is a senior scientist at the BAM Federal Institute for Materials Research and Testing in Berlin, Germany. His major expertise is in fundamental and applied spectroscopy including LIBS, emission, absorption, and fluorescence with a focus on modeling and simulation of laser induced plasma and development of spectroscopic methods for environmental, industrial, and laboratory applications.

He received his PhD from the University of Florida in 1997 where he worked until 2008, when accepted a position at BAM. Over the last two decades, he and his colleagues developed a comprehensive theoretical model of laser induced plasma, numerous methods for plasma diagnostics and LIBS-analyses. Recent works include application of spatial heterodyne spectrometry for LIBS and Raman qualitative and quantitative analyses, laser induced plasma for chemical vapor deposition and texturing materials, and optical spectroscopy for controlling metal 3D printing. The instrumental works are always being accompanied by theoretical modeling and numeric simulations of relevant processes.

As of now, Igor’s research activity has resulted in ca. 150 publications and several book chapters, which collected over 3500 citations, several patents, and copyrights. He is a member of the editorial board of Spectrochimica Acta part B and recipient of the 2001 Elsevier SAB best paper award. Over the years, Igor has been a mentor to many PhD students from USA, German, and other Universities.

Past Recipients

2021 Uwe Karst

2020       Heidi Goenaga-Infante

2019 Mike Angel

2018  Javier Laserna

2017 Frank Vanhaecke

2016 Raymond Arvidson

2015 R. Kenneth Marcus

2014 Steven Ray - Interview with Steven Ray by Spectroscopy Magazine

2013 Richard Russo - Interview with Russo

2012 Ralph E. Sturgeon - Interview with Sturgeon

2011 David W. Hahn

2010 Kay Niemax

2009 Nico Omenetto

2008 Annemie Bogaerts

2007 Detlef Günther

2006 Paul Farnsworth

2005 Richard Russo

2004 James D. Winefordner

2003 Ramon Barnes

2002 Julian Tyson

2001 John Olesik

2000 Max Diem

1999 D. Bruce Chase

1998 Sandford Asher

1997 Therese M. Cotton

1996 Richard A. Keller

1995 Michael D. Morris

1994 Richard F. Browner, Guangxuan Zhu

1993 Willard W. Harrison

1992 G. Hieftje

1991 M. Bonner Denton

1990 Edward S. Yeung

1989 Gary Horlick, Martha A. Vaughn, S.H. Tan

1988 Thomas C. O'Haver

1987 Richard Sacks, J.M. Goldberg, R.J. Collins, S.Y. Suh

1986 Robert S. Houck, Velmer A. Fassell, Gerald D. Flesch, Harry J. Svec, Alan L. Gray, Charles E. Taylor

1985 C.R. Blakley, M.L. Vestal

1984 Gary M. Hieftje, Stanley B. Smith, Jr.

1983 M. Barber, R.S. Bardoli, R. D. Sedgwick, A.N. Tyler

1982 Charles Wilkins

1981 David M. Hercules

1980 John P. Walters

The Federation of Analytical Chemistry and Spectroscopy Societies (FACSS) and the SciX Conference organizers are dedicated to providing a professional, pleasant and harassment-free conference experience for everyone. View the full Code of Conduct. 

©2020 FACSS Analytical Science and Innovation | (856) 224-4266  
is  an exempt organization under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software