The ANACHEM Award was established in 1953 and is presented annually to an outstanding analytical chemist based on activities in teaching, research, administration or other activity which has advanced the art and science of the field. The Award was presented as a part of the Anachem Conference through 1972. After 1972, the ANACHEM Award has been presented at the national meeting presented by FACSS as a part of a special symposium comprising a group of invited speakers. The Annual ANACHEM Award is currenly presented at the annual SciX Meeting.

2018 ANACHEM Award Recipient
Susan Lunte,
University of Kansas

Susan M. Lunte is the Ralph N. Adams Distinguished Professor of Chemistry and Pharmaceutical Chemistry, Director of the Adams Institute for Bioanalytical Chemistry, and Director of the NIH COBRE Center for Molecular Analysis of Disease Pathways at the University of Kansas, Lawrence, KS.  She received a B.S. degree in chem­istry from Kala­mazoo College and a Ph.D. in Analytical Chemistry in 1984 from Purdue Univer­sity working with Peter Kissinger.  Dr. Lunte was the Editor-in-Chief of Analytical Methods, from 2012-2017. She is a Fellow of the AAPS, ACS, RSC and AAAS. Dr. Lunte’s research interests include new methodologies for separation and detec­tion of peptides, amino acids, neuro­trans­mitters and pharmaceuticals in biological fluids.  


Nominations for the future ANACHEM awards should be submitted to the current president of the ANACHEM organizaitons.  Contacts details can be found on the ANACHEM website.

Previous ANACHEM Award Winners

1953 Hobart H. Willard
1954 M.G. Mellon
1955 No Awardee
1956 William Fredrick
1957 Philip J. Elving
1958 Charles Gambrill
1959 G. Frederick Smith
1960 Harry A. Bright
1961 I. M. Kolthoff
1962 Paul K. Winter
1963 A.A. Benedetti-Pichler
1964 Lawrence Hallett
1965 John Hague
1966 Harvey Kiehl
1967 Ralph G. Smith
1968 Eugene Sawicki
1969 Sidney Siggia
1970 Vernon Stenger
1971 Velmer Fassel
1972 Charles Reilly
1973 Rosalyn Yallow
1974 John Mitchell, Jr.
1975 David F. Boltz
1976 John Vandenbelt
1977 Richard Hahn
1978 Jeanette Grasselli
1979 J.J. Kirkland
1980 James D. Winefordner
1981 Walter McCrone
1982 James Shoolery
1983 Roger Bates
1984 Gary Hieftje
1985 Fred M. McLafferty
1986 Henry Freiser
1987 Howard Malmstadt
1988 Walter Slavin
1989 Harry L. Pardue
1990 Janet Osteryoung
1991 Ben S. Freiser
1992 Milos V. Novotny
1993 Richard Nyquist
1994 Joseph A. Caruso
1995 George G. Stafford
1996 James Jorgenson
1997 Michael Morris
1998 Lloyd Snyder
1999 Steve Stein
2000 R. Sam Houk
2001 Chuck Sweeley
2002 Bruce Chase
2003 Catherine Fenselau
2004 Walter Jennings
2005 Mary J. Wirth
2006 Richard D. Sacks
2007 Isiah Warner
2008 Scott A. McLuckey
2009 E. Neil Lewis
2010 Marc D. Porter
2011 Robert B. 'Chip' Cody
2012 Peter Griffiths - Interview with Peter Griffiths
2013 Norman Dovichi - Interview with Norm Dovichi
2014 David E Clemmer - Interview with David E. Clemmer by Spectroscopy
2015 Jonathan Sweedler - Interview with Johnathan Sweedler by Spectroscopy
2016 Paul Cremer - Interview with Paul Cremer by Spectroscopy
2017 Jennifer Brodbelt - Interview with Jennifer Brodbelt by Spectroscopy
2018 Susan Lunte