Ellis R. Lippincott Award

The Ellis R. Lippincott Award is awarded annually to recognize an individual that has made significant contributions to the field of vibrational spectroscopy. The award was jointly established in 1975 by The Optical Society (OSA), The Coblentz Society, and The Society for Applied Spectroscopy to honor the unique contributions of Professor Ellis R. Lippincott. Among other contributions, Professor Lippincott was one of the developers of the diamond anvil cell which is widely employed used in high pressure research, and because innovation was a hallmark of Lippincott's work, this quality must also be demonstrated by candidates for the award. 

2023 Recipient

Peter Griffiths 

Peter Griffiths was born in England and spent the first 25 years of his life there.  After receiving a doctorate in Physical Chemistry from Oxford University in 1967, he spent the next two years doing postdoctoral research at the University of Maryland under the supervision of Ellis Lippincott.  After brief stints with Digilab in Cambridge, MA and Sadtler Research Labs in Philadelphia, PA, he joined the faculty of Ohio University, reaching the rank of Distinguished Professor.  After ten years, he moved to the University of California, Riverside before accepting the chairmanship of the Chemistry Department of the University of Idaho, from which he retired in 2008. 

His principal research area has been analytical vibrational spectroscopy with particular emphasis on FT-IR spectroscopy with the occasional foray into Raman spectroscopy and gas, liquid and supercritical fluid chromatography. Among the specific topics that his research group has worked on are diffuse reflection spectroscopy, open-path atmospheric monitoring, and the interface of FT-IR spectrometers with various types of chromatographs (GC, HPLC and SFC).  He has served as president of both the Coblentz Society and the Society for Applied Spectroscopy.  He served on several editorial boards, including more than 30 years with Applied Spectroscopy.  He was an Associate Editor of that journal from 1981 to 2009, the Editor-in-Chief from 2009 to 2012 and the Editor from 2012 to 2018.

 He has co-authored over 300 papers and has written, co-authored or edited eleven books on various aspects of vibrational spectroscopy.  He taught in a week-long course on the interpretation of IR and Raman spectra for over 30 years and acted as a consultant to several companies, law firms and organizations.  His work has been recognized by several awards including the Coblentz Award (1975), the Spectroscopy Society of Pittsburgh Award (1985), the New York SAS Gold Medal in Spectroscopy (1995), the Fritz Prëgl Medal of Austrian Society for Analytical Chemistry (1995), the Bomem Michelson Award (2003), the Gerald S. Birth Award for Outstanding Work in Near-Infrared Spectroscopy (2004) and the Anachem Award (2012).  His selection as this year’s Lippincott Awardee represents a marvelous way to ride off into the sunset.


For more information on the Lippincott Award, visit https://www.coblentz.org/awards/the-lippincott-award/

Past recipients

2022  Martin Zanni

2021 Rohit Bhargava

2020 Volker Deckert Coblentz

2019 Ji-Xin Cheng SAS

2018 Peter Hamm OSA

2017 Roberto D. Merlin Coblentz

2016  Thomas Elsaesser SAS

2015 Dana D. Dlott OSA

2014 Andrei Tokmakoff Coblentz

2013 Xiaoliang Sunney Xie SAS

2012 Keith A. Nelson OSA

2011 Isao Noda Coblentz

2010 Martin Moskovits SAS

2009 Michael D. Fayer OSA

2008 Richard P. Van Duyne Coblentz

2007 Jonathon Tennyson SAS

2006 Hai-Lung Dai OSA

2005 Jaan Laane Coblentz

2004 Richard Mathies SAS

2003 Shaul Mukamel OSA

2002 Sanford A. Asher Coblentz

2001 W. Lester S. Andrews SAS

2000 Donald Levy OSA

1999 Mitsuo Tasumi Coblentz

1998 Takeshi Oka SAS

1997 Robin Hochstrasser OSA

1996 Giuseppe Zerbi Coblentz

1995 Giocinto Scoles SAS

1994 Herbert L. Strauss OSA

1993 John Rabolt Coblentz

1992 Richard Saykally SAS

1991 No Award Given

1990 Robert W. Field OSA

1989 Marilyn Jacox Coblentz

1988 Andreas Albrecht SAS

1987 C. Bradley Moore OSA

1986 Wolfgang Kaiser Coblentz

1985 Ira W. Levin SAS

1984 Jon Hougen OSA

1983 John Overend Coblentz

1982 Michael Delhays SAS

1981 Ian M. Mills OSA

1980 George C. Pimentel Coblentz

1979 E. Bright Wilson SAS

1978 Bryce L. Crawford OSA

1977 Lionel J. Bellamy Coblentz

1976 Richard Lord SAS

The Federation of Analytical Chemistry and Spectroscopy Societies (FACSS) and the SciX Conference organizers are dedicated to providing a professional, pleasant and harassment-free conference experience for everyone. View the full Code of Conduct. 

©2020 FACSS Analytical Science and Innovation | (856) 224-4266  
is  an exempt organization under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software