Charles Mann Award for Applied Raman Spectroscopy

The Charles Mann Award is presented to an individual who has demonstrated advancement(s) in the field of applied Raman spectroscopy, presented at the FACSS SciX conference; and/or demonstrated dedication to the advancement of the Raman spectroscopy program at the FACSS SciX conference and/or the ASTM Raman subcommittee. The Charles Mann award for Applied Raman Spectroscopy was instituted by FACSS in 2002 following the untimely death of Professor Charles (Charlie) Mann. Professor Mann was a well-known and long-standing member of the faculty of Florida State University (FSU). Professor Mann and his faculty colleague, Professor Tom Vickers, contributed significantly to the development of analytical Raman spectroscopy via publications, participation at numerous meetings including the annual FACSS meeting, and participation in the ASTM sub-committee on Raman spectroscopy E13.08. Professor Mann’s research areas covered from the fundamental including data analysis (chemometrics and databases), quantitative Raman, and instrumental understanding to the applied, polymers, inorganics, etc.

2022 Recipient

Igor Lednev

Igor K. Lednev is a Distinguished Professor in the Department of Chemistry, University at Albany, State University of New York. He is an Adjunct Professor in the Department of Biological Sciences and a faculty Member of the RNA Institute. Lednev is a cofounder of SupreMEtric LLC ( commercializing a patented technology for forensic purposes, and Early Alzheimer’s Diagnostics LLC developing saliva and blood tests for the early disease diagnostics. Lednev has served as an advisory member on the White House Subcommittee for Forensic Science.

Lednev’s research is focused on the development and application of novel laser spectroscopy for forensic purposes, medical diagnostics and fundamental biochemistry. His accomplishments include the development a universal method for the identification and analysis of biological stains for forensic purposes using Raman spectroscopy. Lednev laboratory introduced novel spectroscopic methods for characterizing the structure and formation mechanism of amyloid fibrils associated with neurodegenerative diseases. A new protein folding-aggregation phenomenon of spontaneous rearrangement of amyloid fibrils from one polymorph to another was discovered that opened the opportunity for a new therapeutic approach for neurodegenerative diseases. Lednev laboratory used the combination of Raman hyperspectroscopy and machine learning for developing noninvasive methods for disease diagnostics.

Lednev has co-authored over 250 publications in peer-reviewed journals and 8 patents. His work has been covered by media more than 90 times including 11 TV interviews, and publications in the Wall Street Journal, Chemical & Engineering News, Forensic Magazine, etc. Dr. Lednev was recruited by the United Nations to give a week-long “National Training Course on using vibrational techniques to enhance the forensic analysis” in Santiago, Chile, in January 2020.

Igor's full bio can be found here. Read the 2022 Charles Mann Award press release here


If you'd like to nominate someone for the Charles Mann Award, please review the nomination information for instructions. Nominations for the 2023 Charles Mann Award are being accepted as of November 5, 2022. The deadline for nominations is December 15, 2022.

Past Recipients

2021 Roy Goodacre

2020 Yukihiro Ozaki

2019 Karen Faulds

2018 Andrew Whitley

2017 Duncan Graham

2016 Brian Marquardt

2015 Sanford A. Asher

2014 Richard P. Van Duyne

2013 Volker Deckert

2012 Dr. Don Pivonka

2011 Professor Howell G.M. Edwards

2010 Professor Richard L. McCreery

2009 Professor Pavel Matousek

2008 Dr. Ian R. Lewis

2007 Dr. Neil Everall

2006 Professor Michael Morris

2005 Dr. D. Bruce Chase

2004 Dr. Michael M. Carrabba

2003 Dr. Michael J. Pelletier

2002 Dr. Fran Adar

The Federation of Analytical Chemistry and Spectroscopy Societies (FACSS) and the SciX Conference organizers are dedicated to providing a professional, pleasant and harassment-free conference experience for everyone. View the full Code of Conduct. 

©2020 FACSS Analytical Science and Innovation | (856) 224-4266  
is  an exempt organization under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software