Royal Society of Chemistry Awards

The following awards are presented and awarded by the Royal Society of Chemistry. 



The Theophilus Redwood Award is given to a leading analytical scientist who is also an outstanding communicator.


The biennial Sir George Stokes Award is given to a leading analytical scientist awarded for translating research in biomolecular engineering and nanotechnology into new analytical devices and reagents to improve human and animal health.

2020 Award Recipient

Professor Tuan Vo-Dinh

Dr. Vo-Dinh is R. Eugene and Susie E. Goodson Distinguished Professor of Biomedical Engineering, Professor of Chemistry,

and Director of the Fitzpatrick Institute for Photonics, Duke University. After high school in Vietnam, he pursued studies in

Europe, receiving a B.S. in physics at EPFL-Lausanne (1970) and a Ph.D. in physical chemistry at ETH-Zurich (1975). Before joining

Duke University in 2006, he was Director of the Center for Advanced Biomedical Photonics and a Corporate Fellow, one of the highest

honors for distinguished scientists at Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL). His main research goal is focused on developing advanced

technologies toprotect the environment and human health. His research has centered on the development, integration and application

of biophotonics, molecular spectroscopy, molecular biology and nanotechnology for biomedical diagnostics, photoimmunotherapy, precision

medicine, and global health.  

Dr. Vo-Dinh has received seven R&D 100 Awards for Most Significant Advance in Research and Development; the Gold Medal Award,

Society for Applied Spectroscopy (1988); the Languedoc-Roussillon Award (France) (1989); the Scientist of the Year Award, ORNL

(1992); the Thomas Jefferson Award, Martin Marietta Corporation (1992); two Awards for Excellence in Technology Transfer, Federal Laboratory

Consortium (1995, 1986); the Lockheed Martin Technology Commercialization Award (1998); the Distinguished Inventors

Award, UT-Battelle (2003); the Distinguished Scientist of the Year Award, ORNL (2003); the Exceptional Services Award, U.S. Department

     of Energy (1997); and the Award for Spectrochemical Analysis, American Chemical Society (ACS) Division of Analytical Chemistry (2011).

     He has authored over 400 publications, is a Fellow of the U.S. National Academy of Inventors and holds over 49 patents. 


This lectureship was launched as a platform for an early career analytical scientist to raise the profile of the analytical sciences to the wider scientific community and general public.

2020 Award Recipient

Yi-Lun Ying.

Dr. Yi-Lun Ying received her B.Sc in Fine Chemistry (2009), and Ph.D in Analytical Chemistry (2014) from East China University of Science and

Technology (ECUST). After a doctoral exchange study in the University of Birmingham (2014), Dr. Ying carried out her postdoctoral research on

nanopore single-molecule analysis and nanoscaled biosensors at ECUST. Since 2016, she started her independent work on the nanopore

electrochemistry at ECUST. In 2019, she was promoted to professor at State Key Laboratory of Analytical Chemistry for Life Science in Nanjing

University and also acted as a co-PI at the Chemistry and Biomedicine Innovation Center.

Dr. Ying currently focuses on developing electro-optical nanopore sensing modules for addressing peptide/protein sequencing and revealing

the heterogeneous structure-activity relationship of the single biomolecules. To push the detection limit of the electrochemical measurement,

her team is currently exploring the advanced artificial intelligence for nanopore arrays and innovating new sensing mechanisms to reserve the

richest single molecule dynamics.

Dr. Ying’s work has been recognized by several awards and honors, including the L’Oreal-UNESCO International Rising Talents (2016), Excellent

Young Scholars of National Natural Science Foundation of China (2019), National Ten Thousand Talent Program for Young Top-Notch Talent (2019).

     She has also served as an Editor for Results in Chemistry from its inception. Once again, we offer our warmest congratulations to Yi-Lun on her


The Federation of Analytical Chemistry and Spectroscopy Societies (FACSS) and the SciX Conference organizers are dedicated to providing a professional, pleasant and harassment-free conference experience for everyone. View the full Code of Conduct. 

©2020 FACSS Analytical Science and Innovation | (856) 224-4266  
is  an exempt organization under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software