The Theophilus Redwood Award is given to a leading analytical scientist who is also an outstanding communicator.


Christy Haynes is the Elmore H. Northey Professor of Chemistry at the University of Minnesota where she leads the Haynes Research Group, a lab dedicated to applying analytical and nanomaterials chemistry in the context of biomedicine, ecology, and toxicology.

Professor Haynes completed her undergraduate work at Macalester College in 1998 and earned a Ph.D in chemistry at Northwestern University in 2003 under the direction of Richard P. Van Duyne. Before joining the faculty at the University of Minnesota in 2005, Haynes performed postdoctoral research in the laboratory of R. Mark Wightman at the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill.

Among many honors, she has been recognized as an Alfred P. Sloan Fellow, a Searle Scholar, a Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar, a National Institutes of Health “New Innovator,” and a 2018 Guggenheim Fellow.  In addition to wide recognition for her research contributions, including over 250 peer-reviewed publications, she has been recognized by her university as an Outstanding Postdoctoral Mentor and the Sara Evans Faculty Woman Scholar/Leader Award. Professor Haynes is currently the Associate Head of the University of Minnesota, Department of Chemistry, the Associate Director of the National Science Foundation-funded Center for Sustainable Nanotechnology, and an Associate Editor for the journal Analytical Chemistry.

In addition, Prof. Haynes is a champion for diversity in STEM fields and dialogue between scientists and the public. To learn more about Prof. Haynes and her research, in her own words, listen to a recent interview she gave on the “People behind the Science” podcast and watch a TEDx talk she delivered in January 2017. ( and

past recipients

2017 - Chris Elliott

2016 - D Graham

2015 - R Van Duyne

2014 - E Williams

2013 - J Caruso

2012 - S McLuckey

2011 - A Turner

2010 - P Bohn

2009 - J Vickerman

2008/9 - F Marken

2008 - J K Nicholson

2007 - J V Sweedler

2006 - R G Brereton

2005 - R Zenobi

2004 - M B Denton

2003 - S J B Tendler

2002 - R P Evershed

2001 - D Littlejohn

2000 - P J Worsfold

1999 - U A Th Brinkman

1998 - A Manz

1997 - J M Mermet

1996 - M V Novotny

1995 - M Thompson

1994 - J G Graselli

1993 - G Eglinton

1992 - A Hulanicki

1991 - J N Miller

1990 - J H Purnell

1989 - B R Kowalski

1988 - A Townshend

1987 - A M Ure

1986 - G M Hieftje

1985 - A Grasserbauer

1984 - R L Williams

1983 - G Nickless

1982 - D T Burns

1981 - J D Winefordner

The Federation of Analytical Chemistry and Spectroscopy Societies (FACSS) and the SciX Conference organizers are dedicated to providing a professional, pleasant and harassment-free conference experience for everyone. View the full Code of Conduct. 

©2020 FACSS Analytical Science and Innovation | (856) 224-4266  
is  an exempt organization under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software